With reference to Caswell’s influence in the Halifax Convention, John D. Toomer, speaking at a State Constitutional Convention in Raleigh in November 1835, stated:

A Congress was convened in Halifax in 1776 to form a Constitution for our State. The most popular man in the country was Richard Caswell who was President of that Congress and the most influential member in that body. On the ratification of the Constitution, he signed it as presiding oflicer. Such was his influence in that body that tradition says he dictated the principles if not the terms of the instrument.

The Halifax Convention also appointed Justices of the Peace to conduct the civil government of the several counties. Justices appointed for Dobbs County were Thomas Edwards (Hookerton), Henry Goodman (Southwest Creek), Robert Simms (Wayne County area), William Hooker (Rainbow Mill section of Greene County), Thomas Williams (near present Walston— burg), William Whitfield, Junior (near Seven Springs section), Robert White, Junior (Kinston area south side of Neuse), George Miller (Kinston), Joseph Pipkin (Grantham section of present Wayne County), Constantine Whitfield (Whitfield’s Ferry on Neuse River south of La Grange), John Cobb (Kinston), Joshua Herring (Falling Creek), William Sasser (Stoney Creek Church area—now near Goldsboro), Spyers Singleton (between Hookerton and Snow Hill) and Etheldred Ruflin (Ruflin’s Bridge—formerly Peacock’s Bridge near Stantons— burg)? Click here for pdf document